ISF Logo   IS Forum
Forum Index Register Members List Events Mark Forums Read Help

Go Back   International Skeptics Forum » General Topics » Social Issues & Current Events

Welcome to the International Skeptics Forum, where we discuss skepticism, critical thinking, the paranormal and science in a friendly but lively way. You are currently viewing the forum as a guest, which means you are missing out on discussing matters that are of interest to you. Please consider registering so you can gain full use of the forum features and interact with other Members. Registration is simple, fast and free! Click here to register today.
Old 5th October 2019, 07:35 AM   #1
ShortHaxYT
Scholar

"Faux-nerability"

You’ve seen it on Snapchat. Facebook. Instagram.

“I used to weigh 685 pounds. I hated myself. I was bullied. Life was very hard. Now I’m a millionaire life coach and I’ve completely turned my life around.”

Usually this includes one grainy photo of them when they were overweight and another of them today — shirtless, on the beach, smiling, with a beautiful spouse at their side.

At first glance this seems vulnerable. They’re peeling back the facade that they’ve always had their life together and showing a time when they weren’t so “perfect.” It seems to humanize them, make them relatable.

But think about what they’re actually doing.

They’re not vulnerable at all. They’re a success story — a complete, ends-tied narrative of failure to fame. They aren’t risking anything by showing you how they overcame their obstacles. What are you gonna say, “Wow, you used to be fat LOL”? That’ll roll right off their back because been there, done that. They already overcame that hurdle.

I’m not saying that overcoming obstacles means that you are never vulnerable when talking about them. I mean that 90% of the people who claim to be “vulnerable” online… aren’t.